Lauren Flynn Named SEC Freshman of the Week

MUTIGERS.COM Redshirt freshman Lauren Flynn earned SEC Freshman of the Week honors on Monday
MUTIGERS.COM
Redshirt freshman Lauren Flynn earned SEC Freshman of the Week honors on Monday
MUTIGERS.COM

Sept. 24, 2012

COLUMBIA, Mo. - University of Missouri redshirt freshman defender Lauren Flynn was named the Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Week, the league announced on Monday. Flynn is the second Tiger to earn Freshman of the Week honors this season, joining fellow defender Candace Johnson.

Flynn, a native of Dardenne Prairie, Mo., scored Missouri's game-winning goal in Mizzou's 2-1 comeback win over Ole Miss on Friday evening. The 79th minute tally was the first of her collegiate career. She played all 90 minutes against the Rebels on Friday and 86 minutes in the Tigers' shutout of Vanderbilt on Sunday.

Over the course of the season, Flynn has started all 10 games at left back, played all 90 minutes in eight games and helped the Tiger defense record five shutouts.

Mizzou hits the road next weekend for a pair of SEC games. The squad takes on Georgia on Friday, Sept. 28 at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT), followed by a 1 p.m. ET (Noon CT) contest against Tennessee on Sunday, Sept. 30.

 

 

More Headlines
Online Stores
TIGERS
Official Store
Official Online
AUCTIONS

Top Videos
Schedules
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
 
Where will Football finish in the SEC East?
 
Vote