Hu, McCormick Nominees for McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award



April 3, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - University of Missouri seniors Allison Hu and Nathan McCormick are nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award, as announced by the Southeastern Conference on Wednesday, April 3. One male and one female from each of the SEC's 14 institutions have been nominated for the scholarship, and the overall recipients of the award will be announced on April 5.

Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion, provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining finalists for the award will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship. The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla., on May 30.

Missouri's Female McWhorter nominee, Allison Hu is expected to graduate with a B.S. in Health Sciences in 2013. She earned CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-America® second team honors and Capital One Academic All-District 6 first team accolades in 2012. The St. Charles, Mo., native was also named the 2012 SEC Soccer Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year, was on the 2012 SEC Fall Honor Roll and was a member of the Big 12 Conference's Honor Roll. On the soccer field, she started all 42 games she played in as a Tiger after transferring from Saint Louis University and was recognized as a Primetime Performer for her play during the 2012 season.

Hu was inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi and is a member of the Dean's Honor Roll for the School of Health Professions at Mizzou. Off the soccer pitch and outside of the classroom, she volunteered with the Special Needs Soccer Association and as a pharmacy technician at Ellis Fischel Cancer Center Pharmacy.



McCormick, Mizzou's Male McWhorter nominee, graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Business Management in December 2012 and is currently working toward a Master of Business Administration degree. The Leawood, Kan., native recently earned All-America honors at 133 pounds at the 2013 NCAA Championships. During his career he was a three-time NCAA qualifier and a two-year team captain. McCormick was the University Freestyle National Champion in June 2012 and helped the Tigers to their first-ever Big 12 title in 2012.

Off the mat, McCormick is active in the Columbia community as a participant in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, One Mizzou for Joplin and the Philip Perry Memorial. He is also a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Council, serving as treasurer in 2012-13. He was also one of two student-athletes selected to represent Missouri on the Intercollegiate Athletic Committee. In the classroom, McCormick has been named to the Dean's List nine consecutive semesters, was a three-time Academic All-Big 12 first team honoree and was a member of the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll.

The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award was first presented in 1986. The honor was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athletes of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-1986.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?