Julia Potter Named First Team All-Big 12

MUTIGERS.COM Junior Julia Potter
Junior Julia Potter

April 30, 2009

Missouri junior Julia Potter has been named to the All-Big 12 Conference First Team for the second-straight season. Potter was one of 11 student-athletes that earned All-Big 12 recognition.

Potter finished in a tie for 20th place at last week's Big 12 Championships in Lubbock, Texas. She has earned a bid to the NCAA East Regional, which will be played May 7-9 in Gainesville, Fla. Potter claimed six top-10 finishes and four top-fives in 2008-09 and own the Johnie Imes Invitational last October.

The 2009 All-Big 12 Team was identified by using the Top 10 highest-ranked student-athletes according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship. The team increased to 11 individuals to include Texas A&M's Ashley Freeman, who was this year's medalist at the Big 12 Championship. Oklahoma State freshman Caroline Hedwall swept both the Player and Newcomer of the Year awards. Baylor's Sylvia Ferdon won Big 12 Coach of the Year in a vote by the league's head coaches.

The Player and Newcomer of the Year are automatically selected as the highest ranked individual from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the conference championship. Hedwall was atop the leaderboard through the first two rounds at this year's Championship held in Lubbock, Texas. The OSU freshman ended tied for third place in her first showing at the event with teammate Pernilla Lindberg. With her 7-over total through three rounds, Hedwall recorded her fourth top-five performance this season.

All-Big 12 Team
Hannah Burke, Baylor, Jr.
Emily Childs, Colorado, Fr.
Julia Potter, Missouri, Jr.
Kendall Dye, Oklahoma, Sr.
Caroline Hedwall, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Amanda Johnson, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Pernilla Lindberg, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Caroline Masson, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Nicole Vandermade, Texas, Fr.
Ashley Freeman, Texas A&M, Jr.
Sarah Zwartynski, Texas A&M, So.



Player of the Year
Caroline Hedwall, Oklahoma State

Newcomer of the Year
Caroline Hedwall, Oklahoma State

Coach of the Year
Sylvia Ferdon, Baylor

More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?