Eye, Kulas and Doty Earn SEC Recognition

Morgan Eye has been named Co-6th Woman of the Year.

Morgan Eye has been named Co-6th Woman of the Year.

March 5, 2013

COLUMBIA, Mo.--Three Tigers have been recognized by Southeastern Conference as released today (March 5) by the league office. Sophomore Morgan Eye has been named this year's Co-6th Woman of the Year, and junior Bri Kulas is a member of the All-SEC Second Team. Freshman Lianna Doty has been named to the All-Freshman Team as well.

The honors come as the first conference honors in each of their careers, and they are Missouri's first honors as a member of the Southeastern Conference.

Eye is the first Tiger to receive a 6th Woman of the Year award, and she is a well-deserving candidate. This season she averaged 13.5 points and knocked down 95 of Missouri's 157 three-pointers off the bench. Eye holds the all-time season three-pointers record at Mizzou (108), and she is currently tied for the SEC all-time record as well.

Averaging a team-leading 14.1 points per game this season, Kulas joins just 14 other Tigers all-time who have been recognized to All-Conference Second Teams. Kulas has started in every game for Missouri this year, becoming a major asset on the court. She has tallied five double-doubles this season, and she leads the team with an average of 6.6 rebounds per game.

Doty is the second freshman at Missouri to be named to the conference All-Freshman team as teammate Kyley Simmons was named to the Big 12 All-Freshman squad last season. Doty has dished out a team-leading 144 assists this year and averages 4.8 assists per game. Those numbers also lead all freshmen in the Southeastern Conference.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Woman and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches. Ties were not broken.



Missouri will continue the season on Thursday at the 2013 SEC Tournament in Duluth, Ga. The Tigers earned a No. 10 seed and will play Vanderbilt at 5 p.m. CT.

Coach of the Year: Holly Warlick, Tennessee
Co-Players of the Year: A'dia Mathies, Kentucky, Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Freshman of the Year: Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Defensive Player of the Year: Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Co-6th Woman of the Year: Sarah Watkins, Arkansas, Morgan Eye, Missouri
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Blanche Alverson, Auburn

All-SEC First Team
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

All-SEC Second Team
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Jennifer George, Florida
Jasmine James, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Adrienne Webb, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Bri Kulas, Missouri
Ashley Bruner, South Carolina
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Adrienne Pratcher, Texas A&M
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team
Jennifer George, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Sydney Moss, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Lianna Doty, Missouri
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M
Heather Bowe, Vanderbilt

More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll

Where will Football finish in the SEC East?
Back-to-Back Champs!