Missouri Wrestling Awards End of the Year Honors

MUTIGERS.COM Junior Todd Schavrien was named Missouri's Most Improved Wrestler for the 2009-10 season.
Junior Todd Schavrien was named Missouri's Most Improved Wrestler for the 2009-10 season.

May 3, 2010

The University of Missouri wrestling program held its annual banquet on Friday, April 16, and recognized five grapplers for their achievements over the course of the 2009-10 season.

Junior Todd Schavrien (Poway, Calif.) was named the teams' Most Improved Wrestler. The Most Improved Wrestler award has been given out since 1999, and is awarded to the student-athlete who showed the greatest improvement in skills on the mat over the course of the year. The 141-pound grappler improved upon last years 15 win season and NCAA appearance to earn a 27-12 record in 2009-10, including two wins at the 2010 NCAA National Championships.

Senior National Champion Maxwell Askren (Hartland, Wisc.) was named the teams' Most Outstanding Wrestler. The Most Outstanding Wrestler award is the oldest award given by the Missouri wrestling program, dating back to 1963. The 184-pound grappler earned his third consecutive All-America accolade and a National Title in 2010, notching 20 wins on the season, and completing his Missouri wrestling career with 104 total wins.

Sophomore Dom Bradley (Blue Springs, Mo.) was named this year's Hap Whitney Coach's Award winner. The award, named after former Missouri Head Coach Hap Whitney, is given to the wrestler who displays dedication, commitment, sacrifice, and unselfishness to the team. The 2009 Junior Freestyle World Champion earned a 19-5 record for the season, going a perfect 5-0 in dual meets. Earning 19 team dual points, Bradley had the team's quickest fall of the season, pinning Purdue's Adam Walls in 18 seconds.

The Ed Lampitt Total Tiger Award, given to the wrestler who is a leader both on and off the mat, was awarded to senior Mark Ellis (Peculiar, Mo.) Ellis also received the team's Most Falls award after tallying a team-high of eight on the season. The sixth place finisher in the heavyweight bracket of this year's NCAA Championships ended the season with a 22-13 record, and earned his second consecutive All-America honor.



Redshirt Freshman Brent Haynes (Kansas City, Mo.) was awarded the Marshall Esteppe Most Outstanding Freshman award for his contribution to his class and teammates over the course of his first season. Haynes, wrestling in the 197-pound weight class, finished the season with a 28-15 record, which included six wins by fall, as well as six wins by major decision. The honor has been given to former Tiger greats Khris Whelan (1979), Joe Spinnazola (1980), Craig Martin (1984), Sam Henson (1991), Tyron Woodley (2002), Ben Askren (2004), and Tyler McCormick (2005), all of whom earned All-American honors during the course of their career.
More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?