Marable Claims Big 12 Title

Nick Marable

Completed Big 12 Championship Brackets

March 6, 2010

Norman, Okla. - Wrestling in front of 2,610 fans in the Howard McCasland Field House, the Tigers finished the Big 12 Championships in fourth place with 33 points. Oklahoma State claimed the Championship Title with 70.5 team points, followed by Iowa State in second with 69 points.


Senior Nick Marable avenged his only dual loss of the season in the 165-pound title match, taking a win over Iowa State's Jon Reader, 6-5. Marable struck early, being first on the board with a takedown at 2:37. Reader escaped at 2:21, and took Marable back to the mat at 1:18. Marable escaped at :40, ending the period in a neutral position. Reader started the second period on bottom, earning only an escape in the second period. In the third period, Marable got an escape and a takedown to counter Reader's one escape, ending the match 6-5. With the win, the Collierville, Tenn. native improves to 33-3 on the season, and becomes the first Missouri wrestler to win three consecutive Big 12 Championship Titles, taking the crown in 2008 and 2009 as well.


Senior Max Askren's entrance into the Missouri 100 win club was deferred by Oklahoma State's Clayton Foster, as Foster claimed a 10-6 win over Askren in the 184 pound finals. Askren got the early lead, striking first with a takedown at 1:27 in the first period, but Foster soon changed the momentum of the match with a reversal at :51. In the remaining two periods, Foster garnered a takedown and a nearfall, holding Askren to just two more escapes to end the match. Askren now sits at 99 wins in his career, and 15-2 on the season.


Earlier in the day, junior Todd Schavrien and redshirt freshman Nick Hucke finished third in their respective weight classes, while redshirt freshmen Nathan McCormick and Brent Haynes finished fourth.



125: Jarrod Patterson (OU) dec. Andrew Long (ISU): 5-3

133: Jordan Oliver (OSU) dec. Nick Fanthorpe (ISU): 6-2

141: Jamal Parks (OSU) dec. Zack Bailey (OU): 3-2

149: Kyle Terry (OU) dec. Mitch Mueller (ISU): 4-2

157: Shane Vernon (OU) dec. Neil Erisman (OSU): 6-5

165: Nick Marable (MU) dec. Jon Reader (ISU): 6-5

174: Stephen Dwyer (NU) dec. Mike Benefiel (OSU): 9-5

184: Clayton Foster (OSU) dec. Max Askren (MU): 10-6

197: Jake Varnery (ISU) dec. Craig Brester (NU): 5-2

HWT: David Zabriskie (ISU) dec. Jared Rosholt (OSU): 3-1


Match By Match Results


David Klingsheim (NU) dec. Eric Wilson (MU): 4-2

Chris Notte (OSU) maj. dec. Eric Wilson (MU): 16-2


Nathan McCormick (MU) dec. C.J. Napier (NU): 3-1

Jordan Oliver (OSU) maj. dec. Nathan McCormick (MU): 10-2

Kendric Maple (OU) dec. Nathan McCormick (MU): 14-3

141- Todd Schavrien (Third Place)

Jamal Parks (OSU) dec. Todd Schavrien (MU): 7-6

Todd Schavrien (MU) maj. dec. Mike Koehnlein (NU): 14-6

Todd Schevrien (MU) dec. Dalton Jensen (ISU): 8-7

149- Nick Hucke (Third Place)

Nick Hucke (MU) won by fall over Dustin Payne (NU): 4:27

Kyle Terry (OU) maj. dec. Nick Hucke (MU): 13-4

Nick Hucke (MU) dec. Luke Silver (OSU): 9-6


Tyler Koehn (NU) maj. dec. Patrick Wright (MU): 10-2

Andrew Sorenson (ISU) maj. dec. Patrick Wright (MU): 15-4

165- Nick Marable (First Place)

Nick Marable (MU) dec. Alex Meade (OSU): 2-1

Nick Marable (MU) dec. Jon Reader (ISU): 6-5


Duke Burk (ISU) dec. Dorian Henderson (MU): 7-4

Jeff James (OU) dec. Dorian Henderson (MU): 8-6

184- Max Askren (Second Place)

Max Askren (MU) dec. Josh Ihnen (NU): 2-1

Clayton Foster (OSU) dec. Max Askren (MU): 10-6


Brent Haynes (MU) dec. Alan Gelogaev (OSU):  6-5

Jake Varner (ISU) maj. dec. Brent Haynes (MU): 14-3

Eric Lapotsky (OU) dec. Brent Haynes (MU): 4-1


David Zabriskie (ISU) dec. Mark Ellis (MU): 2-1

Nathan Fernandez (OU) dec. Mark Ellis (MU): 5-4




More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?