Tigers Sweep Diving Titles On Day Three



March 14, 2010

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - For the first time in school history, the Missouri Tigers will send four divers to the NCAA Championships this year after two gold medal performances on the platform by Greg DeStephen and Christina Gailey on the last day of the Zone "D" Diving Championships on Sunday.

Both won the platform competition on the final day of competition, giving DeStephen the only two zone gold medals in men's history, while Gailey pairs her silver medal on the platform from the conference championships with gold from zones.

Gailey won the title scoring 521.90 total points, besting SMU's Audra Egenolf by more than 17 points. Gailey is the last Tiger to make the cut on the women's side along with Jordan Morcom who qualified yesterday, and also becomes the second female diver to win gold at zones since Kendra Melinychuk did it on the platform a few years ago.

DeStephen earned his second zones gold of his career, adding the platform title with his three-meter title from earlier in his career. DeStephen, who already qualified with Dante Jones for the national meet on Saturday, won the competition with 757.90 points over Texas' Matthew Cooper.

Gailey and Morcom will now head to Purdue University for the women's championships this weekend, while DeStephen and Jones will travel to Ohio State for the men's championships in two weeks.



More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?