Konarzewski Blasts Record On Day Four

MUTIGERS.COM Missouri Tigers
Missouri Tigers

Feb. 28, 2010

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - Closing out the 2010 Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday night, the Missouri men's swimming and diving squad capped off the week with two second place finishes and two bronze finishes to close out the meet.

Texas won their 14th straight championship with 1086 points, followed by Texas A&M with 826 points and Missouri with 740 points

After swimming in three races on Friday, Jan Konarzewski wanted to make a bigger splash than the day before, and on Saturday earned a silver medal in the 200 back event. He finished in 1:42.89, destroying his own record by close to two seconds.

After his strong swim in the morning session, John Higgins finished the championship swim in 1:46.23 to finish in seventh place. Adam Abernathy and Ryan Sellers both earned their way into the consolation bracket of the event, with Abernathy finishing in 1:48.63 and Sellers in 1:50.68. Abernathy's swim puts him eighth all-time in school history.

Higgins moved up to second all-time in the preliminaries, finishing fifth in 1:44.91 behind record holder Konarzewski who finished 1:46.44 for the finals spot in the championship heat.

Senior Greg DeStephen and junior Dante Jones finished second and third in platform competition, with each earning their second medal of the championships in their last performance before the zone meet. DeStephen finished with 346.65 points, with Jones earning 344.65. Dallas Becerra placed sixth overall with 226.35 points.

The 400 free relay team of Jordan Hawley, Anders Melin, Jeff Hendricks and Adam Abernathy set another school record in the finals, clocking in at 2:58.31, giving the men's squad their third relay school record over the lat four days.



Jordan Hawley finished fourth in the 100 free finals, improving on his second place in Missouri history by finishing in 43.76 seconds. Hawley earned his spot in the finals by finishing the prelims in 44.16 seconds in the first heat.

Spenser Lauver, the school leader in the event, finished fourth in the 1650 free in 15:18.14, hitting the NCAA "B" cut line and bested his previous season best by more than two seconds in the process, with Vito Cammisano finishing fifth in 15:49.16 and Ethan Rose finishing eighth in 16:10.44.

Anders Melin and Jeff Hendricks also scored in the event, finishing in the consolation heat in 45.34 and 45.56 seconds, respectively

Yaniv Shnaider and Jowan Qupty have competed together for most of the meet, and much was the same as the two flip-flopped in the school records books in the finals of the 200 breast. Shnaider finished in seventh in 2:00.22, propelling him from tenth to fourth all time, while Qupty finished in 2:02.19 putting him eighth all time.

The third time both Qupty and Shnaider were paired together in the same heat, Qupty came out ahead finishing in 2:02.68 in the preliminaries, while Shnaider finished in 2:03.60.

Cameron Sellers led a trio of Tigers in the 200 fly, finishing fourth in 1:50.91, followed by Ryan Sellers in 1:51.47 and Lauver in sixth in 1:51.73.

The Tigers will now prepare for the NCAA Zone Diving Championships and NCAA Championships in March.

More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?