Mizzou's Mark Leroux Named National Coach of the Year Finalist

MUTIGERS.COM Mark Leroux was named a finalist for the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award.
Mark Leroux was named a finalist for the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award.

May 30, 2013

Columbia, Mo. - Missouri Men's Golf Coach Mark Leroux was named one of six finalists for the 2013 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride on Thursday.

The announcement comes on the heels of senior Jace Long being named to the PING Golf All-Central Region squad earlier this week.

Released by the Golf Coaches Association of America, Leroux led Missouri to the winningest season in school history, as his Tigers claimed six tournament titles and saw Jace Long and Emilio Cuartero combine for five individual crowns.

"I always tell our guys that collegiate golf is a team sport and I wouldn't be here without them," Leroux said. "It is humbling and a great honor to be associated with this award from our Golf Association, but just to be recognized as a finalist is a great tribute to those student-athletes that came out to work and represent Missouri Golf every single day."

Leroux was hired by Mizzou Director of Athletics Mike Alden in 2004 and owns 18 tournament victories as the head coach at Missouri, including 15 wins since the 2009-10 campaign, an average of nearly four wins per season. Leroux joins Brian Smith (2007), Gary Pinkel (2007), Ehren Earleywine (2009, 2010 and 2012 NFCA Midwest Staff of the Year) and Frank Haith (2012) to earn regional and national coaching recognition since 2007.

Missouri has also claimed 22 individual medalist titles (including shared titles) since Leroux arrived and those 22 wins have come from nine different golfers, two of which Emilio Cuartero and Ryan Zech) will return to lead Mizzou in 2013-14.



Leroux is joined by Steve Desimone (California); Derek Freeman (UCLA); Glen Millican (New Mexico); Herb Page (Kent State) and Jay Seawell (Alabama) as finalists.

The winner of the 2013 Dave Williams Award is expected to be announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America in late June.

For more information on Missouri Golf, please visit our website mutigers.com.


More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?