Tiger Football Hands Out Team Awards

TE Michael Egnew

TE Michael Egnew

Nov. 28, 2010

COLUMBIA, Mo. - The University of Missouri football program held its annual team awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center, and paid tribute to its senior class, which has won a school-record 40 games over the last four seasons.

Junior TE Michael Egnew was honored as the Team Most Valuable Player, an award which was voted on by his fellow players.  Egnew, a finalist for the 2010 John Mackey Tight End Award, leads all the nation's tight end with 83 receptions for 698 yards and four touchdowns.  Egnew was one of 17 players who received votes from the team for the award, an indicator of the great team dynamic the 10-2 Tigers have enjoyed this season.  Egnew was also named as the team's co-receiver of the year, along with sophomore WR T.J. Moe, who leads MU with 893 receiving yards and six receiving touchdowns.

Moe was also a multiple-award winner, as he took home the Aaron O'Neal St. Louis Metro Player of the Year Award, named for the former Tiger linebacker who passed away tragically in 2005.  Other multiple award winners included senior LB Andrew Gachkar, senior S Jarrell Harrison, senior C Tim Barnes, and redshirt freshman LB Andrew Wilson.

Other highlights included Harrison winning the team's Unsung Hero Award for his willingness to play multiple positions throughout the course of the year for a defense decimated with numerous injuries, true freshman Henry Josey winning the team's Freshman of the Year award, junior DE Jacquies Smith claiming the Rigman Outstanding Underclassman Leadership Award, and senior LB Jeff Gettys winning the team's Scholar-Athlete Award.



Here's a recap of today's honorees:

2010 Football Season Awards
Tiger Performance Athlete of the Year (Strength & Conditioning) Andrew Gachkar
Scholar-Athlete of the Year Jeff Gettys
Reinhardt Construction Hammer Award (Most Big Hits) Andrew Wilson
Cornerback of the Year Carl Gettis
Safety of the Year Jarrell Harrison & Kenji Jackson
Linebacker of the Year Andrew Gachkar
Defensive Lineman of the Year Aldon Smith
Offensive Lineman of the Year Tim Barnes
Receiver of the Year Michael Egnew & T.J. Moe
Offensive Back of the Year (QBs/TBs) Blaine Gabbert
Special Teams Player of the Year Matt Grabner & Andrew Wilson
Missouri MO Award (Spirit, Team-First) Kevin Rutland
Freshman of the Year Henry Josey
Ed "Brick" Travis Interior Lineman Award Elvis Fisher
Walk-On Player of the Year Matt Grabner
Aaron O'Neal St. Louis Metro Player of the Year T.J. Moe
Bob Jeffries Kansas City Player of the Year Brad Madison
Don Faurot Most Inspirational Player Award Tim Barnes
Jeff Rigman Outstanding Underclassman Leadership Award Jacquies Smith
Curtis Jones Champion of the Year Award Forrest Shock
Team Captains Tim Barnes, Luke Lambert, Kevin Rutland
Most Valuable Player Michael Egnew
Unsung Hero Award Jarrell Harrison
More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?