Sam Named Bednarik Award Semifinalist

MUTIGERS.COM Senior DL Michael Sam
Senior DL Michael Sam

Oct. 29, 2013

PHILADELPHIA - Mizzou Football senior defensive end Michael Sam (Hitchcock, Texas) has been announced as a semifinalist for the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. Currently the Southeastern Conference and national sacks leader with 10.0 to his credit, Sam was one of 16 candidates picked by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

Sam's outstanding All-America caliber season has included three multi-sack games, first with 3.0 sacks against Arkansas State (Sept. 28) and then following with two more 3.0-sack performances in Mizzou wins at Vanderbilt (Oct. 5) and vs. Florida (Oct. 19). The 3.0-sack stat line has only been accomplished 23 total times across the Football Bowl Subdivision. Sam also leads the SEC and nation in tackles-for-loss with his 16.0 total (2.00 per game).

League recognition has come in steadily for the Tiger defender, with Sam earning two SEC Defensive Line Player of the Week awards (Sept. 28, Oct. 5) and one SEC Defensive Player of the Week honor (Oct. 19). Sam is one of just two players from the SEC to be named a semifinalist.

The winner of the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on Dec. 12. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 25, and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Feb. 28, 2014 in Atlantic City, N.J.

Semifinalist voting will begin on Wednesday, Oct. 30, and close on Sunday, Nov. 24. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

No. 10 Mizzou (7-1, 3-1) continues at home with SEC foe Tennessee (4-4, 1-3) on Saturday, Nov. 2, with kickoff at 6 p.m. on ESPN. Ticket information can be found at



2013 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists:
Player , Class, Position, College
Anthony Barr, SR, LB, UCLA
Vic Beasley, JR, DE, Clemson
Chris Borland, SR, LB, Wisconsin
Aaron Donald, SR, DT, Pittsburgh
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, JR, CB, Oregon
Kyle Fuller, SR, CB, Virginia Tech
Jackson Jeffcoat, SR, DE, Texas
Lamarcus Joyner, SR, CB, Florida State
Khalil Mack, SR, LB, Buffalo
C.J. Mosley, SR, LB, Alabama
Trent Murphy, SR, LB, Stanford
Michael Sam, SR, DE, Missouri
Ryan Shazier, JR, LB, Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy, SR, LB, BYU
Nikita Whitlock, SR, DT, Wake Forest
Leonard Williams, SO, DE, USC
More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?