Spoon Goes To Atlanta In 1st Round of 2010 NFL Draft

MUTIGERS.COM Sean Weatherspoon
Sean Weatherspoon

April 22, 2010


University of Missouri standout LB Sean Weatherspoon saw his childhood dreams realized Thursday night when he had his name called in the first round of the 2010 NFL Draft. Weatherspoon, the first player in Mizzou history to win 1st-Team All-Big 12 honors three times, was taken with the number 19 overall pick of the draft by the Atlanta Falcons.

Weatherspoon - the 15th Tiger to ever go in the NFL's 1st-round, is Mizzou's third first-round NFL Draft pick in the last two years, as he joins former roommate Jeremy Maclin (WR), who was the #19 overall pick by Philadelphia in 2009, and former defensive mate Ziggy Hood (DT), who was the #32 overall pick by Pittsburgh in the same draft.

This marks only the second time in MU history that Tigers have been selected in the first round in consecutive drafts. The only other such occurrence happened over 40 years ago, when Russ Washington (OT) was the #4 overall pick by San Diego in 1968, followed the next year when Roger Wehrli (DB) was the #19 overall pick in 1969 by St. Louis.

It is the second consecutive draft that the Falcons have chosen a Tiger defender. In 2009, Atlanta drafted safety William Moore in the second round with the number 55 overall selection of the draft. Sixteen Tigers have been drafted under Head Coach Gary Pinkel, since he took over as MU's coach for the 2001 season.

The 2010 NFL Draft continues Friday and Saturday from New York City, and several other Tigers have hopes of being selected. Stay tuned to www.mutigers.com for the details.

Here's a look at Mizzou's all-time NFL first round draft pick history…

Year Rd. Pick Tiger Team Position
2010 1 19 Sean Weatherspoon Atlanta LB
2009 1 19 Jeremy Maclin Philadelphia WR
2009 1 32 Ziggy Hood Pittsburgh DT
2001 1 4 Justin Smith Cincinnati DE
1987 1 15 John Clay Oakland OT
1981 1 26 Howard Richards Dallas OT
1979 1 13 Kellen Winslow San Diego TE
1977 1 11 Morris Towns Houston OT
1977 1 19 Steve Pisarkiewicz St. Louis QB
1971 1 11 Joe Moore Chicago RB
1969 1 19 Roger Wehrli St. Louis DB
1968 1 4 Russ Washington San Diego OT
1966 1 10 Francis Peay New York Giants OT
1946 1 8 Bill Dellastatious Detroit B
1943 1 9 Bob Steuber Chicago RB



More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?