Aaron Crow Wins Clemens Award

MUTIGERS.COM Aaron Crow and Roger Clemens
Aaron Crow and Roger Clemens

Aug. 26, 2008

HOUSTON - Missouri pitcher Aaron Crow is the winner of the 2008 Roger Clemens Award. Crow was presented the award by Roger Clemens in Houston.

The Roger Clemens Award honors the top pitcher in college baseball each year. Crow was undefeated in 2008 with a 13-0 record and a 2.35 earned run average with the Missouri Tigers. Crow struck out 127 batters in 107.1 innings, leading Missouri to the NCAA Regionals. In addition to winning the Roger Clemens Award, the junior from Wakarusa, Kan., was the Big 12 pitcher of the year and a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award.

The finalists for the 2008 Roger Clemens Award were Joshua Fields of Georgia, Chris Hernandez of Miami (Fla.) and Brian Matusz of San Diego. Crow and the three finalists were selected from a field of 10 semifinalists in a national vote of all Division 1 head baseball coaches, selected national college baseball media, previous winners of the R. E. "Bob" Smith Award, which was presented to the top player in college baseball in 1988-2003, and the 13 previous finalists for the Clemens Award. Prior winners of the award include David Price of Vanderbilt (2007), Andrew Miller of North Carolina (2006), Luke Hochevar of Tennessee (2005) and Jered Weaver of Long Beach State (2004).

The award is administered by the Greater Houston Baseball Association, a non-profit organization which supports amateur baseball in Houston. The GHBA has provided hundreds of thousands of dollars to charity through the Roger Clemens Award. The vote for the award is tabulated by the accounting firm of Easley, Endres, Parkhill & Brackendorff, P.C.



More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?