Zagone Leads Mizzou to Win at Malibu Regional

MUTIGERS.COM Freshman Rick Zagone
MUTIGERS.COM
Freshman Rick Zagone
MUTIGERS.COM

June 4, 2006

Box Score

MALIBU, Calif.-- - Mizzou freshman Rick Zagone recorded his first career complete game as Missouri remained alive in NCAA Regional play, taking a 2-1 win over UCLA on Sunday at the Malibu Regional. The Tigers now move on to a match-up with Pepperdine at 3 p.m. pacific time (5 p.m. central).

Zagone struck out seven, allowing just one run on six hits to move to 6-3 on the year.

With the game tied at one in the seventh inning, Mizzou sophomore Evan Frey delivered a two-out base hit to drive in sophomore Brock Bond with the go-ahead run. Bond was hit by a pitch to open the seventh, moved to second on a sacrifice bunt by junior Gary Arndt and advanced to third on a ground out by senior J.C. Field. Frey then singled through the left side of the infield to allow Bond to score.

After two of the first four batters of the game for Missouri singled, UCLA's Tyson Brummett retired 11 batters in a row before five-straight MU batters reached safely, including three-consecutive singles from Bond, Arndt and. Field. Bond scored a run to tie the game at one when Brummett balked with runners on the corners.

The Tigers will face Pepperdine at 3 p.m. pacific time (5 p.m. central) today. If Mizzou defeats Pepperdine, the two teams will meet at 1 p.m. pacific time (3 p.m. central) on Monday for the right to move onto to Super Regionals.

 

 

More Headlines
Online Stores
TIGERS
Official Store
Official Online
AUCTIONS

Top Videos
Schedules
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!

Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
 

Where will Football finish in the SEC East?
 
 
Back-to-Back Champs!
 
2nd
 
3rd
 
4th
 
5th
 
6th
 
7th