Eight Tigers Earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors



Nov. 25, 2008

The Big 12 Conference has named 137 student-athletes to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored were six nominated with a 4.00 GPA, including Thomas Grove and Tyler Wortman (Nebraska), Jared Glover and Andrew Lewis (Oklahoma State), and James Griffin and Graham Harrell (Texas Tech). Texas placed a league-leading 22 student-athletes on the squad -- 17 on the first team and five on the second.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and its media relations offices, the football academic all-league squad consisted of 91 first team members combined with 46 on the second team. First team members have recorded a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those with a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher, either cumulative or in the two previous semesters and have participated in 60 percent of his team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Name Class Major Hometown
Colin Brown Sr. Education Braymer, Mo.
Chase Daniel Sr. Business Administration Southlake, Texas
Chase Patton Sr. Biology Columbia, Mo.
Dain Wise Jr. Business Midwest City, Okla.
Jeff Wolfert Sr. Plant Sciences Overland Park, Kan.
Austin Wuebbels So. Undeclared Troy, Ill.
SECOND TEAM (3.00 TO 3.19 GPA)
Name Class Major Hometown
Kurtis Gregory Jr. Masters in Agriculture Blackburn, Mo.
Ziggy Hood Sr. General Agriculture Amarillo, Texas