Mizzou Celebrats ROARS

The third annual ROARS were held Monday night.

The third annual ROARS were held Monday night.

May 3, 2011

Columbia, Mo. -

Mizzou Athletics hosted its third annual ROARS event on Monday night, celebrating a year of success for the Tigers, on the playing field, in the classroom and throughout the Columbia community.


Missouri also welcomed back former Mizzou great and NBA standout Kareem Rush. The Kansas City, Mo., native performed two songs off of his debut album, Rehabbing R&B.


Rush will perform in Columbia on Tuesday evening at the Blue Note and current Missouri Basketball standout Laurence Bowers will help open for the former Tiger by singing two of his original songs. Bowers should go on around 9:30 p.m.

ROARS Photo Gallery


2010-11 ROARS Awards

Dr. Judith A. Wells Academic Achievement Award

Male: Jeff Scardino - Baseball

Female: Nicola Race – Women’s Golf


We Are Mizzou Award

Male: TJ Moe - Football

Female: RaeShara Brown - Women’s Basketball


Coaches Academic Enhancement Award

Pat Ivey – Strength and Conditioning


Male Athlete of the Year Award

Lars Rise – Track


Female Athlete of the Year Award

Mary Burke - Gymnastics


Coach of the Year Award

Jamie Sweeney – Diving


Team Performance of the Year Award

Football- Homecoming Win


Male Highlight of the Year Award

Gahn McGaffie – Football - 86-yard kickoff return vs. Oklahoma


Female Highlight of the Year Award

Alyssa Bonnick & Krista Kruse - Soccer – ESPN Highlight Goal against Texas


Male Rookie of the Year Award

Kenneth Chambers – Track


Female Rookie of the Year Award

Loren Figeroa – Diving


Male “For the Love of the Game” Award

Jarrett Sutton - Men’s Basketball


Female “For the Love of the Game” Award

Annemijn Koenen – Tennis


Male Unsung Hero Award

Kirk Lakebrink – Football


Female Unsung Hero Award

Abby Vock – Softball


Male Courage Award

Marcus Denmon – Men’s Basketball


Female Courage Award

Rebekah Mills – Women’s Basketball


Male Varsity M Award

Tim Opfer - Track


Female Varsity M Award

Sierra Gant - Track


Professor of the Year Award

Dr. Joel Poor – Professor Marketing


Team Community Service Award

Women’s Basketball


Athletic Director Leadership Award

Jordan Hawley


Tiger Cup Award

Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country


More Headlines
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online

Top Videos
Download Schedules:   Add to calendar

Follow us!


Shelter Insurance
Shelter Insurance
Fan Poll
Where will Baseball finish in the SEC East this season?